My God, It’s Full of Stars!

Child-looking-at-stars.

Where are we going? What direction are we taking? I look around me. I see people fighting irrelevant battles. Wining pointless victories. Rejoicing in empty accomplishments. I look around me, look at these people, and realise that this really is the desert of the real. We’ve become so bound to the machine, so enthralled by the next big acquisition that we’ve lost sight of what’s really important. We don’t take the time to step back and ask “Why?”, to marvel at nature, to enjoy a sunrise. We’re “busy”, “have to much to do”, “can’t afford the time”. Our children are forced into this rat race at an ever younger age. We expect them to act like adults, to be mature, to be clever, to achieve, to be the best. Why isn’t it enough to just be happy?

As I get older I ponder on these thoughts more frequently. I have become increasingly disillusioned with society and what it dictates as being the “norm”. I wonder what kind of legacy we’ll leave behind. We’re rats in a maze and are content to run around in circles. We’ve been shackled to what we believe to be the norm and what we think is expected of us. Right now I’m just another rat, but at least I’m aware of it! Will I break free? Maybe not, but I’ll do my damn best, if not for me, for my children.

I don’t have children yet, but I worry about the world they would be entering. I don’t need them to be in the 95th percentile, I don’t need them to be the centre of attraction, and I surely don’t expect them to become slaves to the machine. I want them to be happy. I want them to play. I want them to open their mind. I’ll teach them to challenge the norm, to question everything. I want them to look up at the night sky and think “My god it’s full of stars”, not look at the TV and think “yes, twerking is good, will make me popular!”

Society is sick, our values are all screwed up and we have no idea what we’re doing. We focus on careers, the accumulation of money, gaining power, being a public figure. These are all irrelevant, after all do you intend taking all that money with you when you die? I fear the illness may be terminal, that it would be easier to just put it out of its misery. But sometimes, on rare occasions, I see a glimmer of hope, a little spark and I think that we’re not done yet, we still might pull ourselves out of the irrelevance we’ve created for ourselves. But then, the machine pulls us back in!

Oh, look at the time, I’ll leave you to ponder these thoughts, I’ve got a deadline coming up, can’t be late, it’s too important………

This entry was posted in Self, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.