Mass Effect Andromeda – A Theory

So, E3 2015 has come and gone and my, what a show it was! Loads of cool announcements and really great games to look forward to. Prior to E3 I had been contemplating which next-gen console was for me and was leaning towards the PS4, the sole reason being No Man’s Sky. Then Microsoft comes along and plops backwards compatibility on the table for Xbox 360 games. Damn you Microsoft! Now what will I do!? And then there’s Fallout 4, yes Fallout 4, mana from heaven! I want! I want! Give it to me now!

But to the subject of today’s post – Mass Effect 4, or as it’s now called Mass Effect Andromeda. The Mass Effect trilogy was a masterpiece and for me were the best games I’ve played in a very long time. Needless to say, I’ve been closely following developments in relation to the next instalment and was overjoyed with the trailer we got, but also frustrated by the lack of information and details.

So what do we know? Well, we know its events will take place in the Andromeda galaxy, hence the name Mass Effect Andromeda. It’ll also take place a few hundred years after the events of Mass Effect 3. We also know that the character in the trailer wearing the famous N7 badge isn’t the main character in the game. Oh and the graphics look gorgeous!

Whilst viewing the trailer an interesting question came to mind though. Mass Effect 3 ended with the controversial three choices – take control of the Reapers, destroy the Reapers or join in symbiosis with the machines. The three different outcomes could have a very different effect on the new game’s story line and it could be a bit of a nightmare for the developers. So how will Mass Effect Andromeda handle and incorporate this?

I have a theory!

Now this is totally speculation, I have no insider knowledge on the game nor do I have any contacts at Bioware or its affiliates. This is just a theory of an avid fan and gamer. So here goes……

It’s quite simple really, and I wouldn’t be surprised if someone else has already thought of this. My take on it would be that as the Reapers began their invasion, a number of deep space colony ships were sent out of the galaxy. Each ship would hold a substantial number of colonists, maybe in the tens of thousands, from multiple different races. It would be a way of covering all the bases in a doomsday scenario. These ships could use Mass Relays to get to the edge of the galaxy. Andromeda would then be the ideal target since, if I’m not mistaken, it is the closest galaxy to the Milky Way. The problem is that once there they’d have to use more conventional means to get to another galaxy. They may choose to spin this through the discovery of a special Mass Relay which jumps you into the Andromeda galaxy. This wouldn’t be unprecedented, remember the Omega 4 Mass Relay in Mass Effect 2?

Omega 4 Mass Relay

One failing of my theory would be that if there’s a special Mass Relay, why didn’t the Reapers follow them? Maybe the colony ships used conventional means to get to Andromeda? I still think it’s a plausible way of continuing the story without impacting the end of Mass Effect 3. The colony ships would have left before the conclusion of that game and Shepard’s final choice wouldn’t have effected them.

Personally I kind of like this solution, it’s clean and neat and would fit in nicely. I wonder what everyone else thinks…….

This entry was posted in Games, Games, Microsoft, Sony, Technology, Xbox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.